Bureau régional pour l'Afrique de l'Est : Comores, Djibouti, Érythrée, Éthiopie, Kenya, Madagascar, Maurice, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalie, Sud-Soudan, Ouganda, République-Unie de Tanzanie


Restez connectés


Learn more about our programs and results

Contact us

UNESCO in Brief


About the Office in Nariobi

The UNESCO Office in Nairobi was created in 1965 for the purpose of serving as a regional hub for science, technology and innovation (STI) in Sub-Sahara Africa. Following the UNESCO Africa Field Reform of 2011, UNESCO Regional Office has evolved from a Regional Office for Science and Technology to the even broader scope of a Multi-Sectoral Regional Office responsible for 13 Member States in Eastern Africa and the adjacent Indian Ocean Islands. 

UNESCO pursues its objectives through five sectors in education, natural sciences, social human sciences, culture, and communication and information.  In addition, the Regional Office for Eastern Africa host and coordinate UNESCO Institute of Statistics (UIS), Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), Intergovernmental Council of the International Hydrological Programme (IHP) and The Programme on Man and the Biosphere (MAB).